I solemnly swear that I am up to no good.

Okay, okay, I need to freak out for a few minutes because I experienced one of the coolest things ever yesterday, so bear with me.

For those of you who know me like, at all, you’ll know that I am a die-hard fan of the Harry Potter franchise. Since I was still in my single-digit years, I have bled Hogwarts colors (possibly harder than Temple colors, even being the proud Owl I am), read every book multiple times, and seen every film… probably more times than is actually healthy. I quote Harry Potter regularly — no shame.

Riddikulus!
Riddikulus!
The tombstone of Tom Riddle's father.
The tombstone of Tom Riddle’s father.

Anyway, yesterday I was given the opportunity to do the official Warner Bros. Harry Potter studio tour outside of London. It was (#NoHyperbole) one of the best days of my life. Full of the original sets, props, and costumes from over ten years of film compiled in to one giant, beautiful museum, this was more than an exhibit. It was interactive, emotional, and revealed answers to so many questions I’ve had about the series for more than half of my life.

The Creatures department
The Creatures department

One thing that blew my mind was the universal proliferation of the franchise. I knew how big Harry Potter was, but it wasn’t until I heard people speaking French, Japanese, Russian, and at least five other languages during this tour that I realized just how big. These books and films have reached every corner of the world, and people travel thousands of miles to learn about the history and making of it because of how much of an impact it has had on their lives.

Yes, I did cry when I saw this.
Yes, I did cry when I saw this.

To learn a bit more about just how big J.K. Rowling’s magical impact on the world has been, check out this Storify piece I made last year about the series.

mischief managed. nox.

xx Gabi

One thought on “I solemnly swear that I am up to no good.

  1. I also decided to write about my experience at the Harry Potter tour for my blog. It’s such a great experience and as a fellow Harry Potter fan, I was very excited whilst on the tour as well. It is crazy how huge the franchise became around the world; in the first room of the tour, they had all the movie posters on virtual display and each poster was in a different language. I didn’t hear anyone speaking a different language while on the tour, but I’m sure they were a ton of ethnicities there with us. If you want to read about my experience on the Harry Potter tour, check out my blog from this week: https://awanderingcouchpotato.wordpress.com/2015/11/16/the-most-magical-place-in-london/

    Like

Leave a Reply

